Making Democracy Work

LWVNCA 2019 Annual Convention

Call to LWVNCA 2019 Annual Convention

Call to LWVNCA 2019 Annual Convention

The LWVNCA 2019 Annual Convention will be held on

Saturday, May 4, 2019, starting at 10 AM to approximately 1:30 PM.


Maggiano's Little Italy, 5333 Wisconsin Ave, NW, Washington, DC 20015 See Calendar for map link to address. (Near Friendship Heights Metro Station)

We will be celebrating the upcoming 100th Anniversary of the founding of the League of Women Voters. Mark your calendars and send your full allotment of delegates. More information will follow in coming weeks.

  • Speaker

  • Our business meeting will include approval of the Proposed LWVNCA Budget for FY2019-20, approval of Proposed LWVNCA Program for 2019-2021, and election of Officers and Directors and Nominating Committee.

  • 2019 NAUMANN AWARD will be presented - see below

(As they become available, Sections below will be updated with information and individual documents that will be presented for approval on May 4th)


Convention Business 2019

As per our bylaws The LWVNCA Convention shall Meet Annually To:

A. Elect officers and directors for a two year term and a Nominating Committee for a one-year term

B. Adopt an Annual Budget

C. In odd-numbered years delegates consider and adopt a two-year Program, and in even-numbered years consider Program development.

D. In Odd number years we award the Madeline Naumann prize.

E. We may also hold a fundraiser at the convention. (such as a Silent Auction)

F. Conduct any other pertinent LWVNCA business.

The following sections cover the official business to be conducted at the 2019 Annual Convention. These items will appear in the LWVNCA 2019 Convention Workbook that delegates will receive on May 4.

Proposed LWVNCA FY2019-20 Budget

Proposed LWVNCA Program for 2019-2021

LWVNCA Nominations for 2019-2021

Nominating Committee Report

2019 Madeline Naumann Award Presentation

The League of Women Voters of the National Capital Area (LWVNCA) presents the Madeline Naumann Achievement Award every two years. The award was named in honor of LWVNCA's first president. Its purpose is to recognize outstanding achievements by local Leagues. These would be activities whose effects, applicability, or interest transcend local League boundaries. We invite the participation of all local Leagues constituting LWVNCA. While management achievements such as membership and communication will qualify for the award, program achievements will receive favored consideration.

Eligibility: All local Leagues constituting LWVNCA, an Inter League Organization, of the greater Washington, DC region are invited to participate.

Award: LWVNCA will bestow the winning League an Award Certificate, and an unrestricted grant of $400.00. Honorable Mentions may also be awarded. It will be presented at the May 4, 2019 LWVNCA Annual Convention.

For full description and guidelines as printed in the application/letter, click here. Also see the Naumann Award page for more information.