Making Democracy Work

Regional Governance

The Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments

The Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments

Also known as COG, is the regional governance organization of the national capital area. It helps develop regional solutions to issues that can cross jurisdications such as the environment, affordable housing, growth and development, public health, child welfare, public safety, homeland security, and transportation.

Founded in 1957, COG is an independent, nonprofit association comprised of elected officials from 22 local governments, members of the Maryland and Virginia state legislatures, and members of the U.S. Congress. COG is supported by financial contributions from its participating local governments, federal and state grants and contracts, and donations from foundations and the private sector.

Click here to reach the The Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments website.

Member Jurisdictions

District of Columbia

Maryland: Bladensburg*(adjunct member), Bowie, Charles County, College Park, Frederick, Frederick County, Gaithersburg, Greenbelt, Montgomery County, Prince George's County, Rockville, and Takoma Park

Virginia: Alexandria, Arlington County, Fairfax City, Fairfax County, Falls Church, Loudoun County, Manassas, Manassas Park, and Prince William County